terug naar overzicht Foto's
Leuven 29 - 31 mei 2014
train to Rotterdam
train to Mechelen
train to Leuven
the student apartment we rented:
She studies Antropology and designs clothes from fair trade fabrics from East Africa, India and Japan.
first impression of Leuven
discovering an Asian supermarket in the Naamsestraat
first visit to the Oude Markt
ambitious local Chinese
how ambitious will the Belgium team be during the World Championship?
Colruyt discount supermarket...
In the 20th century, both world wars inflicted major damage upon the city.
Upon Germany's entry into World War I, the town was heavily damaged by
rampaging soldiers. The university library was also destroyed on 25 August 1914,
using petrol and incendiary pastilles. 230,000 volumes were lost in the
destruction, including Gothic and Renaissance manuscripts, a collection of 750
medieval manuscripts, and more than 1,000 incunabula (books printed before 1501).
The destruction of the library shocked the world, with the Daily Chronicle
describing it as war not only against civilians but also against "posterity to
the utmost generation." It was rebuilt after the war, and much of the collection
was replaced. Great Britain and the United States were major providers of material
for the replenishment of the collection.
The library building designed by Whitney Warren and built from 1921-1928, now
the KUL's central library.
summer trousers for 5 euro
The Celestial Globe: an exact copy of the Celestial Globe in Beijing, China.
The copy was donated by the Chinese government to K.U.Leuven as a symbol of
gratitude for the excellent relations that exist between K.U.Leuven and China.
The original Celestial Globe was made in the 17th century by Ferdinand
Verbiest, a K.U.Leuven professor.
The Grand Béguinage of Leuven, or in Dutch Groot Begijnhof van Leuven is a
well preserved and completely restored historical quarter containing a dozen
of streets in the south of downtown Leuven. About 3 hectares (7.5 acres) in
size, with some 300 apartments in almost 100 houses, it is one of the largest
still existing beguinages in the Low Countries. The béguinage stretches on
both sides of the river Dijle, which splits into two canals inside the
béguinage, thus forming an island. Three bridges connect the parts of the
beguinage. The complete béguinage is owned by the University of Leuven and
used as a campus, especially for housing students and academic guests.
door bell codes
Oude Markt, we called it 'beer square'
The Town Hall, built between 1439 and 1463 in a Brabantian late-Gothic style.
not only Holland is a cheese country
Belgium can be proud of "Suske and Wiske"
morning view of the Oude Markt
tribute to Grace Kelly
"Fonske" is a statue near the centre of town. Its full name is Fons Sapientiae,
Latin for "fountain of wisdom". The statue represents a university student who,
while reading a book, lets wisdom flow into his head as liquid from a glass.
Just like Manneken Pis in Brussels, Fonske is, from time to time, dressed in
costumes appropriate for specific occasions.
inside the St. Peter's Church (1425-1500)
The small Beguinage
June 1, 2013 giantess Fiere Margriet was born thanks to the 1973 Men Leuven.
This was accompanied by a festive procession through the city. A year later,
on May 31, 2014, you get the sequel. Leuven giantess will be baptized and
several giants coming from all over Flanders in Leuven.
Law faculty (Pedagogie De Valk)
Summer time = dress time
tunnel graffiti on the way to the sports parc in the south of the city
Kasteel van Arenberg is a château in Heverlee, very close to Leuven.
In 1916 the duke of Arenberg donated the domain to the university.
The castle is now used by the Engineering Science faculty
Returning to the Grand Béguinage of Leuven (Groot Begijnhof)
almost having the size of a village
The Pope’s College is situated in the centre of the City of Leuven, near
the church of St Peter and the famous Town Hall.
The college for theology students was founded in 1523 by Pope Adrian VI, a
former professor of the university. Today it still houses students.
party music starting 18:00, we came back after dinner
Townhall. In the 19th century, 236 statues were added to the exterior, each
representing a prominent local scholar, artist or noble from the city’s history.
The next day we take a train to Paris